A Day of Classics

It has been hot as balls here, people.  I get it – I watch the news…we’re not alone in this.  But you know what?  I don’t mind!  I would take a jillion swelteringly hot days over all the Canadian winters I’ve suffered through.  BRING ON THE SUN!

So this morning, they were FINALLY calling for some rain.  My grass was very excited.  I, however, knew that I was home alone with the toddler tornado because Husbandio has to work today.  We hung out eating grapes and watching Dora for a while, and then I got us both dressed and hustled us out the door to hotfoot it to the park before the rain arrived.

We made it half way across the street when there was a CRAZY flash of lightening, quickly followed by the boom of super close thunder.  Uh oh…probably not a good time to go running across that open field.  I turned us around and decided to take this party to the backyard.  Which was a great idea for about 15 seconds before the skies opened on us.  WOWZERS!  In we went.

So now I have a slightly unstable toddler and no outside available.  What to do…what to do?

MUFFINS!  My adorable little kitchen elf thought this was a great idea.

Cuter than a kitchen cat!

Remember when I told y’all about my gorgeous Ontario carrots?  Well, I decided on a super simple carrot muffin recipe because I had all the ingredients and it didn’t look like I would be stuck doing anything complicated if Zofia the Nutso decided to spaz out.  The recipe calls for three cups of shredded carrot.  I only had to shred ONE carrot for this.  ONE.

Behold the delicious result.

We made them mini so that they were perfect for teensy little paws

When nap time finally arrived (some days it seems to take MUUUUUUUUCH longer to get here) I meandered my way into the kitchen and was greeted by a bowl of beautiful tomatoes.

I wish I could make your screen scratch and sniff – they smell like summer!

There are a lot of things that you can tweak and make improvements on.  Scrambled eggs, chicken noodle soup, hamburgers…all these things can benefit from a little bit of ingredient manipulation.

Some things don’t need that kind of tomfoolery.

Bacon and tomato showcased at it’s most delicious

It’s a classic day here at Casa Anita.  Carrot muffins and bacon tomato sammiches.  Today is just begging for a meatloaf dinner.

What’s on your plate this weekend?

