The Elf that Stole my Heart

Oh dear.  I have something to show you guys, but I don’t know if you’re ready.

Are you sitting down?

Have you seen lots of cute things today?  Like, too many cute things, so one more cute thing it might send you into overdrive?  If so, then stop now and come back tomorrow.

Alright, for those of you who are still here, I’ll share this picture with you, but if your heart melts into your shoes or if you spend the rest of the day smiling and “awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww”ing to yourself, don’t say I didn’t warn you.  There’s still time to turn back.

No?

Ok then…here we go!

cute elf

The cutest elf that ever elfed. (I almost wrote “elved” but two dwarfs are dwarfs and not dwarves so now everything I thought I knew about life is wrong.)

That’s The Tornado, in a hat made by the incredibly talented friend of my favorite CZ.  I bought the whole family matching hats, but I caught this picture of The Tornado and now I can’t even function any more.

The Tornado sometimes gets the short end of the stick.  She’s a big girl now, and sometimes I forget that even a big girl can still be very, very little.  I expect a lot from that little bundle of sunshine and lunacy (oooooooooohhhh…did you catch that?  A play between the sun and the moon?  YOU GUYS!  I didn’t even plan it but now I feel intellectual and Latin and like I should sew some corduroy patches onto the elbows of something!) and there have been plenty of nights that I’ve cried into a glass of wine, worrying that I’m stealing her childhood or robbing her of joy.  I know.  Serious stuff, friends.

So I really try to treasure moments like this.  Moments when I catch my favorite girl being exactly what she is – a perfectly radiant three-year old.  I grab that little poppet and pull her close into my bosom and whisper sweet nothings into her ear and sometimes she looks up into my eyes, peers deep into my soul, and asks me for some milk and bunnies because kids are assholes and really know how to spoil a special moment.  But days later, when I’m giving her huggies and snuggles as she’s falling asleep at night, she’ll randomly stroke my face and tell me that she loves me always, and I know that she heard my words.

Have you hugged an elf today?

