Why We Do What We Do

I love blogging.  True story.  There are so many things about it that appeal to me, from the connections that we make, to finding a voice of our own.

I could never be one of those actresses who give an interview and say, “Oh no…I never watch my work.  I hate to see myself!”  That’s just not me.  I don’t believe in putting something out there that I don’t want to see.  Is every one of my posts perfect?  Of course not.  But in general, I enjoy reading back on what I’ve written.  I know that I write the way I speak, and when I read my words I can hear myself saying them. That’s incredibly satisfying for me.  It feels true.

The community of bloggers is a huge draw for me as well.  There are several blogs that I read where I feel like I really connect with the author. I know that I have been much more absent lately due to the demands of a new baby and a lunatic toddler, but when I read some of my favorite blogs, I have conversations with these people in my head and it makes me feel more connected.  Not in some weird creepy sociopathic way, I promise.  It’s a little bizarro because most of the time I don’t have time to leave comments so these amazing bloggers don’t even know how deeply I can relate to their situations and how profoundly they touch my life, but I feel it all the same.

Of all the posts that I’ve put out there, by far the one that I most enjoyed writing was my birth story.  You can’t get much more personal than that.  I recently had the incredible honor of receiving a message on my Facebook page from a woman who had read my post when Birth Without Fear was kind enough to feature it.  She left me a note to tell me that reading my story made her look forward to her birth in a new way, and then shared with me a photo that she took moments after the birth of her daughter that was just like the pose I had posted.  A thumbs up to the world.

home birth

Take a minute to celebrate your achievements. You deserve it!

She went on to tell me that out of the hundreds of birth stories that she had read, mine was the only one that she shared with her husband, and that she wanted me to know that I was an inspiration to her.

You guys, wow.

I was so humbled and so honored and so proud.

What a feeling.  To know that your voice reaches others and inspires moments like a post-birth thumbs up.

That is why I do what I do.

What is your “why”?  Has anyone ever told you how much they appreciate you?  Because I TOTALLY appreciate you.

