Project Optimism: There’s One Born Every Minute

My name is Anita, and I’m a sucker.

scam

But it did.
(photo from cuteonly.com)

Ugh, right?  SCAMS!  Why do they exist?  And why do we fall for them?

Because we’re suckers?  Partially, but that’s not all.  We all just want things to be a little bit easier.  Is that such a horrible thing?  No.  UNLESS you jump into something without so much as a simple Google search.  THAT, my friends, is what makes you a sucker.

Last week, in the interest of making things a little bit easier for us, we blindly signed up for a totally stupid online scam.  I know, I know…I’m Google queen!  My Google-fu is mighty!  And yet, on that one day, I leapt before I looked.  On the off-chance that one of you also doesn’t Google stuff, save yourself the grief and stay away from Home Site Production, or Work-At-Home-Digital, or whatever other names it may go under.  Thankfully, we stopped ourselves at the first level, but I can totally see people shelling out a whole bunch of money on the first day before they realize that they’ve been duped.

It’s an awful feeling.  I pride myself on being a smart person.  I usually have a light edge of cynicism that prevents shit like this.  I don’t give out information on the telephone.  I hang up when callers tell me my computer has been hacked and they need to access it remotely to fix the issues.  But I admit that I’m an instant gratification kind of girl and I got swept up in the promise of vacations and home renovation budgets.  I’m a bit of a sucker.

“Wait a minute,” you’re saying, “how is this Project Optimism???”

Well, we all learn from our mistakes, right?  That’s good.  And we stopped at the first level, which is a lot better than it could have been.  I’m optimistic that I will be MUCH MUCH MUCH smarter from now on!

Even if I don’t get any smarter, my ass is getting better so who cares, right?

