A Moment on the Lips

Yesterday was unexpectedly blue.

There wasn’t any huge reason for it.  Was it hormones?  The rainy weather?  Maybe.  Exhaustion?  Perhaps, although I don’t feel as tired as one might think considering the whole toddler-and-newborn dynamic.

Confession?  The more I thought about it, the more I realized it was a combination of unproductiveness and a lack of progress.

The unproductiveness comes from a newborn with a cold.  My main goal in life right now is to make sure Bob Marley nurses and sleeps as much as possible so that his body can heal.  Sleeping is a little tough for him on his own because when he lays down flat, he can’t breathe very well.  This has forced (ha!) me to spend most of my day on the couch, letting him sleep on my chest.  I can’t do much housework like that, and I’m having trouble watching the house slowly messify.

The lack of progress is a darker, more internal struggle.  I had goals, damn it.  I had super woman goals.  I wanted to be down to my pre-Bob Marley weight by Christmas.  I still have 19 pounds to go in the next 20 days.  It’s not looking likely.  The problem with this is that I don’t actually do ANYTHING to work towards my goal.  My eating is shit.  My activity is non-existent.  The only thing I do on a regular basis is beat myself up mentally.  Not a very effective weight loss method, guys.  I need to work on this.

I was also harbouring a bit of resentment towards my parents for never giving me a sister, because I’m convinced we would have authored some sort of book (memoir or cookbook?) by now, but that’s neither here nor there.

In true Best Life form, I didn’t let this ruin my night.  While all this stuff is still there and still sitting at the back of my mind today, I managed to push it aside last night to celebrate two WONDERFUL facts.

champagne

The Best Life needs a champagne sponsor. Interested? Message me!

1. All of the children were sparkly clean.  I LOVE bath time!

2. We had champagne in the fridge.  I LOVE Champagne Tuesday!

Don’t let silly things in life get you down.  At the end of the day, I realized that all the stuff I had been moping about all day wasn’t going to magically get better just because I was dwelling on it.  So why not raise a glass and celebrate life?

Cheers, kittens!

