The True North Strong and Free

Today is all about gratitude.  I have never been more grateful to be Canadian.  Thank you, Canada, for giving me a year to stay home – this is MAGICAL.

canada

I’ll take a little bit of snow if it means I can be writing this from my couch.
(picture from tricofoundation.ca)

Last week got super crazy.  Please forgive my lack of updates, I truly missed every one of you SO SO SO much, but it was my last week of work and there was NO ROOM for anything except frantic hard work to get my desk ready to hand over.

And now it’s done.  My desk belongs to others.  My time is my own.

I can’t begin to tell y’all how surreal this all feels.  I was checking out Babycenter yesterday and there are all these poor American women trying to figure out when to stop working, because they have a week of personal time coming to them and they can afford about 6-8 weeks of unpaid leave before they have to go back to work and what if their baby comes super late so they miscalculate horribly and end up back at work when their baby is THREE WEEKS OLD.

Three weeks old.  I can’t even.

I really struggled with when to stop working, thinking that I was stopping too early because I still have two weeks to go, but at the end of the day, the two weeks at the end of the YEAR just doesn’t mean enough to be this uncomfortable at work.

And did I mention that I would be delivering my baby for free?  And not just because I’m doing it at home.  If the unthinkable happens and I end up in the hospital for a c-section, still free.  Thank you, Canada.  Really.

I’ve been terribly sick since last Thursday and as I’ve told others, if I wasn’t pregnant I’d be at my goal weight by now.  This stomach bug is no joke.  But I believe that it has to be getting better, because COME ON.  But again, at least I get to sit here on my couch, close to my bathroom and my bed and just recover.  Hopefully this really WILL pass quickly, because I have a whole slew of to do lists that need to get addressed soon – apparently I’m having a baby soon that needs a clean house to live in!

On that note, I’m not sure how scheduling here is going to work, but I’m hoping to be able to maintain a blogging presence once Bob Marley arrives.  If I remember correctly, they sleep a lot, right?  Am I just dreaming here?  I’d love some advice from other moms who manage to make this work.

Stay tuned tomorrow for an amazing post (possibly with before and after pictures) celebrating my incredible hair dresser.  She, alone, is reason enough to love Canada!

