To Have Your Heart Go Walking Around…

Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body. – Elizabeth Stone

Remember your youth?  You know what I mean…those amazing, hazy memories of partying all night and sleeping all day, lather-rinse-repeat? An amazingly self-indulgent time where the decisions you made only affected you, and even then you didn’t really care because who ever expects to live past 27?

Yeah…me too.  And it was awesome!

But those days are over, and while sometimes I mourn them a little bit, this weekend was NOT one of those times.  It was one of those sun-kissed, last long weekends of the summer, when everything happens just as it’s supposed to happen.

Husbandio spent the weekend painting our deck, because he is the hardest working Husbandio in showbiz.  This left it up to me to keep the Toddler Tornado occupied.

No problemo.

We started off with some baking.

baking

My most bestest helper EVER!

She was SO GOOD!  I love that we’re getting to the age where she can be really involved in stuff.  She absolutely THRIVES on being in my pocket, helping with everything that I do.

hide and seek

See? Always at my side. Sometimes a little tooooooooooooo close…

The carrot cake that we baked was a huge hit!  If you love cream cheese icing, never EVER look up the ingredients.  Trust me when I tell you, ignorance is bliss on this one.  Just pile it on and enjoy.

carrot cake

One of the best things that has ever been in my mouth. And that’s saying a LOT.

Once the cake was done, we were OFF TO THE FARM!  Zofia LOVES the farm down the street and could happily spend hours climbing around in their little play area.

climbing, toddler

When did my baby get so big? SERIOUSLY, you guys? WHEN???

It was a crazy hot day and all I wanted to do was to lay down with some ice cream and some lemonade and watch the sunflowers follow the light all afternoon.

sunflower

I like the red ones…they’re so vibrant!

They have a corn maze there that I can’t WAIT to get into, but I figured that might be an activity best left for a day when I’ve got some parental back up.

farm

We settled on having our picture taken in front of the maze. Try and restrain yourselves from jumping through the monitor when you see the amazingly sexy stretchy belly poking out from under my shirt

The rest of the weekend flew by in a series of visits from grandparents and trips to various stores.

redecorating

At one point, Zofia showed us what she thought of our decor. NEEDS MORE LEGO, MOMMY!

It doesn’t seem like much, but it was magical.  It was a weekend full of hugs and kisses and just the cutest moment.

I LOVE YOU TOO MUCH MOMMY! – Zofia, moments before I decided to buy her a pony

Spending time with this girl, you can almost SEE her brain growing.  I can’t believe that I get to be a part of this whole process!

It’s easy to have the best life when your kid is the best kid.

 

