Bring Me Your Finest Granola

Ok guys…brace yourselves.  My inner hippie is about to unleash.

It’s no great secret that being pregnant brings out my inner hippie.  I mean, I’m not wearing Birkenstocks (FINE, I did last time but I haven’t done it yet with Bob Marley) and I will always and forever hate patchouli, but I am BUBBLING OVER with a connection to the Universe and nature and all things primal!

I know, I know, but it’s TRUE.  I can’t help myself.  I want to garden.  I want to meditate.  I want to cook with my hands.  Do you cook with your hands?  I’m very tactile.  I don’t like to measure out herbs and spices with teaspoons, I like to grab a handful or pour some out into my palms.  I like to massage my food.  I like to feel tomatoes squishing between my fingers.

I have been ON FIRE this week.  I got an amazing Facebook message on Wednesday that lead me to find Amanda Greavette, possibly my new favorite artist on the planet.  She’s a figure artist who is working on a birth project where she paints women at their most primal and full of amazing beauty.  Birth.  I can’t get over the paintings!

art

Look at her! THIS is what birth looks like, women. Turn off your TLC.
(photo from amandagreavette.blogspot.ca)

That’s not even my favorite one, but I’ll spare you from anything more graphic than that first thing in the morning.  If you go check out her stuff, my favorite painting is The Delivery and I can’t WAIT to be a part of this!

I obviously emailed her right away because I couldn’t stop shaking and asked how to get involved.  And she emailed me back, you guys!  Do you have ANY IDEA how excited I was to get her email?  I felt like a 6 year old boy getting a letter from Spiderman!  Now it’s just a matter of OK-ing it with my photographer and I will a MILLION PERCENT be sending her pictures and hopefully end up on a canvas somewhere.  At the very least, I will be commissioning a painting.  Because I’m in LOVE.

I have been super excited about this birth ever since we decided to do it at home.  I have no delusions about how it will feel, so don’t worry…you don’t need to tell me any awful birth stories.  I’m just SUPER pumped to have the opportunity to be a part of something so powerful and natural and to do it in the comfort of my own surroundings.  I am woman, hear me roar.

Oh and Husbandio, if you’re reading this, I found us some art.  LOVE YOU!

