This weekend is gonna be sweeeeeet

I totally had nothing to write about today.  NOTHING.  I was going to observe a day of silence to commemorate my first official writer’s block.

Then I got to work and was mocked mercilessly for looking like a pin cushion, and my ruthless taskmaster dear, sweet friend CZ said that I should at the very least chronicle my slow, painful decent into gestational diabetes.

Super model pre-photo shoot or hungry mama? Only the baby bump will betray my true identity.

Yesterday, the unthinkable happened.  I got a call from my midwife telling me that I had FAILED my gestational diabetes test and need to go for the follow-up, longer and much hungrier version of the test.  Ugh.  Of all the things I was worried about with this pregnancy, this was NOT one of them.  I have NO signs and NO indicators of gestational diabetes and I wasn’t even going to do the test, but my midwife said that it was better to be safe than sorry.

I’m not going to bore you with any details about gestational diabetes or what a prognosis would mean for me, because I neither know nor care at this point.  All I’m focusing on is the sage advice I got from the lab tech when she found out that I had fasted for the first test, even though I didn’t need to.

“Eat and drink whatever you want this weekend, because it may be your last chance.”

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

So you guys, I need help.  Make a list for me!  What should I eat before I get the awful news that I’ll need to live on celery and air for the next 12 weeks?

Breakfast, am I right? (pic from newcastlecake.com.au)

A little bit of each of these things for lunch (pic courtesy of nenuno.com.uk)

 

And of course a balanced dinner (pic from fanpop.com)

I don’t even want to think too far ahead, because Halloween is coming up and I REALLY want the little Kraft caramel squares and HELLO!  CANDY CORN!

*dies*

Sorry…I can’t go on.  This is too painful.  I’m gonna cry.  So just leave me a comment telling me what you would miss if you were relegated to a diet of carrot farts and unicorn tears, and I’ll try to make sure I get it in before I get my death sentence test results on Monday.

