Maybe coffee, but definitely ritual

I swear, I meant to take a picture of a full cup!

I had never really dated a coffee drinker before.  I always thought that was weird.  I’ve been drinking coffee for as long as I can remember, but I always seemed to end up with men who not only didn’t like it, but wouldn’t even TRY it.  WTF, right?

Now, I used to be a bit of a coffee snob.  I always drank it black.  I loved my espresso and was VERY picky about how it was made.  No long shots for me, please.  I want it short and thick.  I almost want tochew it.

Enter Husbandio.  He loves coffee more than I do.  But horror of horrors…he’s TOTALLY NOT A SNOB!  This man introduced me to INSTANT coffee.  INSTANT.  Seriously?  Me?  Drink INSTANT?  But you know what?  It’s the ritual of sharing a cup of coffee with Husbandio in the morning that has become one of my favorite things in the world.

Don’t get me wrong.  I still appreciate a good cup of coffee.  We have a Keurig and a good cup of Jet Fuel is one of my favorite ways to start the day.  A well-crafted espresso is still totally a thing of beauty.  But you know what?  I would trade them all for a simple cup of instant, shared with someone I love.  Ideally, early enough in the morning that the world hasn’t quite woken up yet.  There’s something about that hour that makes everything more intimate.

What is your ritual?  How do you like to start your day?

