Vampires Need Not Apply

Behold the most used tool in our house.

Alright kittens, it’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for.  My garlic press post.  DON’T SCOFF – I have a total hard-on for this garlic press.  It’s from Pampered Chef and it’s the ONLY garlic press you will ever need again.  Ever.  For all eternity.

Nothing gets made in our house without garlic.  It’s amazing we have any friends at all, really.  Wanna know the secret to a good salad for days when you’re in a hurry?  Just before you’re going to put any store-bought dressing on it, mix in a few cloves of pressed garlic (I usually use 4-6, which is probably why we’ve never had a vampire problem, even though we have a swarm of bats that reside in our soffit) and voila!

But do you wanna know the secret to a truly AMAZING salad?  Here is (loosely) the best salad dressing recipe you’ll ever ever ever see.  It has been adapted from The Garden of Vegan by Tanya Barnard and Sarah Kramer, but I’ve wildly altered the amount of everything that goes in, and I never really make it the same way twice:

3-4 stalks of green onion, roughly chopped

8 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed (if you have a fancy press like mine!)

2 tbsp maple syrup

4 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

3 tbsp fresh dill

3 tbsp fresh parsley

1/2 cup olive oil

a pinch of salt

Throw that all in a food processor until its all smooth and fabulous, pour LIBERALLY onto your salad, and watch people fall madly in love with you.

I’m serious about that last part.  I’m fairly certain that’s why Husbandio married me.  I know Cosmo (is it Cosmo?  Glamour?  I dunno…one of those magazines) claims their super simple, boring sounding chicken recipe provokes offers of marriage, but I wouldn’t want to marry any of those people.  I DEMAND FLAVOUR!  Besides, my inner hippie is always most content when it can produce such loveliness from scratch.

Husbandio – if you’re reading this (and I know you are because you’re fabulous and I lllllllove you) prepare to be dazzled.  I’m totally making this dressing this weekend.  We will dine in style.  Pants optional.

