Pets DIE, Christopher

OH MY GOD, you guys!  OH. MY. GOD.

Last night, I was innocently watching something pointless on TV when the Earth stopped and my Best Life became infinitely Bester.

They remade Flowers in the Attic.  FREAKING FLOWERS IN THE FREAKING ATTIC!  Do you want to guess what my childhood favorite book was?  Wanna guess which author was my very first favorite author ever?  FLOWERS IN THE ATTIC by V. C. Andrews. 

As awful as the first movie was, I loved it.  I must have seen it a thousand times.

Flowers in the Attic

So sweet, so innocent…OR WAS IT???
(photo from http://theresthegirlwiththeblog.blogspot.com)

It had everything you could want in a movie.  Beautiful children, evil female roles, poison, Kristy freaking Swanson.  I swear, Kristy Swanson had my dream life.  Flowers in the Attic AND Buffy the Vampire Slayer?  Come on.  Just stop it right now.  I have career envy.

 

Now, the movie is going to be on Lifetime and I don’t think I have Lifetime, which is causing me a bit of grief.  We’re being so careful and so budget-minded with our cable package, but this might be a deal breaker.  I mean, seriously.  Can’t we just get it for one day?  ONE DAY???  Because I’m pretty sure that if I don’t watch this movie at the earliest opportunity, I might just start crying and never stop.

FLOWERS IN THE FREAKING ATTIC.

Seriously, you guys.  Sorry if you were hoping for a more profound or witty post today, but this is just too amazing.

I remember LIVING in these books.  Flowers in the Attic. Garden of Shadows, Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday…I was obsessed.  And then other books by V. C. Andrews – I think that My Sweet Audrina was my favorite for a loooooooooong time.  Then, oh my god…Heaven and Dark Angel….I’m seriously reliving my youth over here, you guys!

What were your childhood obsessions?  Fill me in!

