Drink More Champagne

There is a small part of me that is convinced I would have been an outstanding prostitute whore lady of the night in France.  There aren’t too many things that I love more than champagne, and I think I could have made the lifestyle work for me.  Now take this all with a grain of salt, since I have a very stylized vision in my head of what life would look like in that situation and I’m pretty sure that it couldn’t be less accurate.  But still, some days I like to fantasize about spending my life swimming in champagne.

The point is, I love champagne.  And sparkling wine.  I love good champagne, but I’m not a snob by any means.  I’ve enjoyed my (and many people’s) share of Moet & Chandon, Cristal, boatloads of Veuve, Martini Asti, and more Baby Duck than I’d care to admit.  Most people I know will have a glass to celebrate something special.  Not this girl! I used to declare Champagne Thursdays and have a couple of bottles because sometimes, one must create one’s own something special.

All day, every day. (photo from gabrielhummel.com)

All day, every day.
(photo from gabrielhummel.com)

This really helps make New Year’s Eve one of my favorite days of the year.  I don’t like to go out that night because everything is more expensive and all of a sudden everyone believes that they can drink WAY MORE than they are actually capable of drinking.  I love house parties on New Year’s Eve, even more so when I’m the one throwing them.  That was what ended up happening this year – we invited everyone who didn’t have plans to come and drink and celebrate with us.  We ended up with about a dozen people and a jillion bottles of champagne and SO MUCH FUN.  And I didn’t have to figure out how to get home after it was over.  See?  Perfection.

So now the old year has ended and the new year has begun and we all get a fresh start.  FRESH START!  I love love love fresh starts.  I love new weeks, new months, but new YEARS are the best.  They feel EXTRA fresh.  I, of course, have all the mandatory weight-related resolutions (do any of you sexy beasts have any experience with Tabata?), and a few personal-growth resolutions, and some that combine all of those things into one.  For example, I resolve to always chase The Tornado around the house when she begs me to.  Last night, I chased that tiny little weather system for about 25 minutes with a giant Bob Marley in my arms and I’m not sure what was more satisfying – the knowledge that I was probably going to lose a thousand pounds just trying to keep up with her, or knowing that I was the one responsible for making her laugh that hard

cute kids

These two keep me in shape, both physically and emotionally. Which they SHOULD, since they also helped destroy me, both physically and emotionally.

What are your resolutions this year?  What are you going to do to make this year better than all of the years before it?

